BirdDog im{press}ions


new year, new gear
January 1, 2010, 2:28 pm
Filed under: Craft Biz, Feedsacks | Tags: , , , , ,

granny's feedsack dress

How serendipitous that 2010 would begin on a Feedsack Friday!

So it would seem that last year at this time, I posted no assessment of goals or a how-far-have-I-come post and I am remembering that it was because I was moving into my new studio! That alone is just HUGE! Finishing up construction and painting over the holidays, I got my Chandler & Price 8×12 platen press moved in the first week of 2009 and there was no looking back. It has become a great little space for my creativity to take root, has been a wonderful meeting place for clients to come and get the whole experience and it is still evolving. In fact, I  hope to get in there tomorrow and finish a bit of reorganizing so that another press can be moved in soon!

I am once again exhilarated and overwhelmed all at the same time. Despite talk of a weak economy in 2009, it was a year of progress for the BirdDog Press. Trying to get everything squared away to hit the ground running in the new year has been a noble effort, and I haven’t given up yet. Among other planning madness, I have already picked all of the patterns for 12 more months of the letterpress Feedsack of the Month Club, purchased the lookbooks for the official launch of the bdp custom wood type stationery collection, finished up assignments for my Bakery Half Dozen biz e-course, and signed my life away to exhibit again at this year’s National Stationery Show!

pantone-turquoise-2010

ps. Happy First Feedsack Friday! It has been estimated that there were 20,000 feedsack patterns produced, so I figured it wouldn’t be hard to come up with 365 of them. For 2010, I will be revealing a Daily Feedsack via Twitter @birdmaiden. The first one {above} is from my Granny’s first feedsack dress, while it is the same pattern, she says hers was more of an aqua/turquoise – similar to the color of the year!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

