BirdDog im{press}ions


Grand Mothers
May 8, 2009, 8:02 am
Filed under: Feedsacks, inspire . spark, Life | Tags: , , ,

grannyLouFeedsackAs Mother’s Day is approaching, I am thinking of all of the mamas in my life. They are an amazing and inspiring bunch, from my mama friends here in Lyons {tirelessly doing the best they can for their children}, my mother & sister-in-law {both incredibly business savvy & supportive in my endeavors}, my step-mom {an artist, teacher, and a great friend}, my great-grandmothers {who nurtured their families through eras we could never fully understand}, my mom {who is a bookbinder, crafty genius, and moved to Lyons to be Agi” to my little boy – we are so thankful}, to my Grandmothers : Grandmom {who taught me to read and love books, who sang great songs and helped me to learn all of the wildflowers that grow in the Great Smoky Mountains} & Granny {who taught me to do-it-yourself by hand, appreciate old things and who is my inspiration for my vintage feed sack frenzy via letterpress}

Pictured above is my dear Granny Lou with her brother, in her feed sack dress. She says she was about 16 in this picture which would date it around 1946.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] another great package from my Granny Lou the other day … she has been collecting feedsacks since well before I was born.  She added a […]

Pingback by reproduction « BirdDog im{press}ions

[…] sweet Granny Lou even flew out for the party. She stayed up super late with me for three days helping me craft party […]

Pingback by not so mellow, yellow « BirdDog im{press}ions

[…] don’t have any pictures of any of the new aprons my Granny Lou has sent me or the fabric that her feedsack dress was made out of or the last couple of months of the Feedsack of the Month Club … and I […]

Pingback by diy doll « BirdDog im{press}ions

[…] runneth overholiday recapAutumn Wallpaper Downloadgushing over Lyonssang the little birdPress PropsGrand Mothersgiving & wishingHandbound Envelope Baby […]

Pingback by new year, new gear « BirdDog im{press}ions

[…] at the first ever Ladies of Letterpress Conference! I get to go home to the southland, visit my Granny Lou, eat at some fave restaurants, immerse myself in ink and type and iron, rub elbows with heroes, […]

Pingback by Conference Calling « BirdDog im{press}ions




Leave a Reply

