BirdDog im{press}ions


before & after : tractor bar stools

Big, huge thank you to Design*Sponge for posting my Tractor Seat Bar Stools on their Before & After feature today. They’ve offered years of inspiration and that extra shove I needed to get this idea of two years done, finally! So very satisfying.

A little backstory … My mom had been moving these seats from storage space to storage space and when we went to North Carolina for the last move, I immediately fell in love with them. One day, the bike shop in front of my studio was throwing out an old stool that the upholstery was tearing on so I asked if I could have it. Next I found another torn up stool at a flea market that swiveled! I used a wire brush and steel wool and a lot of elbow grease to clean each piece up. Then I tried to remove the excess pieces from the seats which I believe was part of how the seats actually bolted to the tractor. They were quite rusty! Then I called up a local welder and told him my vision. He helped me with that part and then I primed and painted with spray paint. I love them!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

they are fantastic!!!

Comment by Meg in NZ

Wow! That is so exciting! Congratulations. They are well deserved… wonderful. So nice to have found your site..the home page is absolutely splendid. xox

Comment by Emily Fitzhugh

i love them too! beautiful job.

Comment by julia vandenoever

Thank you, Emily! And they are quite comfy too.

Comment by Allison Bozeman

I love this!!! I posted this link to my Facebook Page.
https://www.facebook.com/MyJunkArta

And I love your blog!

I have added you to my “Blog Love” online magazine on Scoop It.
http://www.scoop.it/t/blog-love

I also listed your blog on my Pinterest Board “Blogs Home, Décor, Lifestyle”
http://pinterest.com/ShelleyNovonty/blogs-decor-home-lifestyle/

Sincerely, xoxo
Shelley Novotny
http://xeeme.com/ShelleyNovotny

Comment by Shelley Novotny




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

